Who is running for office in the Palo Alto area? | New

• Alex Comsa, real estate agent

• Brian Hamachek, entrepreneur/software engineer

• Lisa Forsell, Creative Technology Professional

• Hope Lancero, biomedical scientist (included in the list of unofficial candidates but not yet certified as an official candidate by the Registrar of Electors)

• Ed Lauing, Executive Recruiter

• Julie Lythcott-Haims, author/educator

• Doria Summa, community volunteer

• Vicki Veenker, mediator/patent attorney

Palo Alto Board of Education – 2 open seats

• Ingrid Campos, businesswoman/mother

• Nicole Chiu-Wang, Parent/Operations Strategist

• Shounak Dharap, Holder/Lawyer

• Shana Segal, teacher/school consultant

East Palo Alto City Council – 2 seats

• Ruben Abrica, Community College Teacher/Instructor

• Jeffrey L. Austin, Coach

• Martha Barragan, teacher

• Marc Dinan, public works commissioner

• Webster Lincoln, scientist

• Q Smith, Planning Commissioner

Ravenswood City School District – 3 seats

• Mele Kasavu Latu, incumbent

• Manuel R. López, aerospace engineer

• Laura Nunez, educator

• Tamara Sobomehin, holder

Menlo Park Fire Protection District – 3 open seats

• Chuck Bernstein, incumbent

• Gary L. Bloom, community volunteer

• Robert Jones, incumbent

• Dionis Papavramidis, software engineer

East Palo Alto Health District – 2 seats

• Ofelia Bello, nonprofit executive director

• Dennis Scherzer, holder

• Vanessa Alexandra Smith, Nonprofit Program Manager

• Joan Sykes-Miessi, holder

Santa Clara County Sheriff

• Kevin Jensen, Retired Captain, Santa Clara County Sheriff’s Office

• Robert Jonsen, retired Chief of the Palo Alto Police Department

Foothill-De Anza College District – District 2

• Patrick Ahrens, Board Member, FHDA

Foothill-De Anza College District – District 4

• Pearl Cheng, Board Member, FHDA

Santa Clara Valley Water – District 7

• Rebecca Eisenberg, lawyer/sustainable investor

• Gary Kremen, titular

Midpeninsula Open Space District – District 2

• Frank Hattler (included in the list of unofficial candidates but not yet certified as an official candidate by the Registrar of Electors)

• Yoriko Kishimoto, holder

Midpeninsula Open Space District – District 5

• Karen Holman, titular

State Assembly – District 21

• Diane Papan – Deputy Mayor of San Mateo

State Assembly – District 23

• Marc Berman, incumbent

• Tim Dec, businessman/environmentalist

US Congress – 16th District

• Anna Eshoo, holder

• Rishi Kumar, Board Member/High Tech Executive

US Congress – 15th District

• David Canepa, San Mateo County Supervisor

• Kevin Mullin, California State Assemblyman

In addition, Palo Alto is preparing a measure to institute a business tax and a tax on transfers of public services; East Palo Alto is proposing an increase in its business tax on residential rental properties.

About Nicole Harmon

Check Also

Best Online Casinos for Canadian Players

Choosing the best online casino isn’t easy, but we can do it together. Especially for …